top of page

Welcome to

How To Go Abroad

Read More
Search
  • Writer's picturehowtogoabroadnow

Travel is Affordable: Part 1

Can we talk about money for a moment? Anecdotally, I think the number one reason people don’t travel more is the expense (especially if we consider taking time off work as a kind of expense in itself). I’m not going to tell you that this way of thinking about travel is wrong, especially since I just came back from Iceland where I spent WAY more than I could have imagined possible, despite camping and going to exactly one restaurant the entire trip. However, if you are even a little flexible, the cost of travel is extremely elastic. So for the next few days I’m going to post a daily thought about making travel affordable. Just to make sure that you’re taking me seriously, consider that I traveled the world (that’s not an exaggeration, I circled the world and spent time on four continents) non-stop for 18 months and spent $12,000, flights included. Got your attention? Here’s today’s thought:

LOCATION: Maybe this is a no-brainer, but it amazes me how many people claim to dream of traveling but the only places on their mental maps seem to be Europe and North-America. So they don’t travel because “it’s too expensive.” Yes, these regions are expensive, with $100/night accommodation minimum (or $25+ for a suspect bed in a dorm), expensive food and transportation, and high ticket prices for entertainment. There are some ways to keep costs down (see future posts) but they will add up no matter what.

Look, Europe is great, but if you dream of travel and money is the main thing stopping you, then it would be worthwhile to look outside a region of the world that would get lost in North Western Africa. It’s a big world, that’s all I’m saying. Consider that I spent less money during two months in South East Asia than I did during a week in Iceland (flights included). Iceland is awesome, and not for people on a budget. South East Asia is also awesome, and perfect for people on a budget. You get the idea.

The reason people get fixated on Europe is the safety/comfort factor. The thing is, if you’re on a budget you will still have to make comfort concessions in Europe, and there are many beautiful and stable regions of the world where you can live in luxury for the cost (and probably must less) of a dirty mouse-ridden chamber in Paris. My personal recommendation is South East Asia as a perfect place for aspiring globe-trotters on a budget, and below (in no order at all) is my list of places that are safe, beautiful, and much much cheaper than Western Europe or the USA. Tell me if you’d add any to the list! Nepal, Vietnam, Cambodia, Bulgaria, Indonesia, Morocco, Thailand, Greece, Botswana, Uruguay, Croatia, Turkey, Bolivia, Cuba, The Philippines, Czech Republic, and Kyrgyzstan. I’m going to talk about being flexible on travel conditions in a latter post, but I just want to say that I didn’t included India on the list because I feel that it requires more sacrifice and inevitable loss of comfort than those listed above. That being said, if you can accept the demanding conditions, India is by far the cheapest place you can travel. My situation was unusual, but as an example I spent an average of $10 a day in India for six months, including absolutely everything except the flight in and out.

So the next time you tell yourself that travel is too expensive, maybe you just need to look a little harder. Remember, the Eiffel Tower isn’t going anywhere, you could visit later in life when money is less of a problem and comfort is more of a concern. For now, while you are younger and probably poorer than you will be in the future (there’s some Grade-A optimism for you!), consider a place a little more adventurous and a lot cheaper!

*Please like, comment, and especially SHARE! If you want to see future posts please like the How To Go Abroad page! Do you have a question about going abroad? Drop me a line! Thanks for your support, happy travels!*


9 views0 comments
Home: Blog2
Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page